A Workflow can be Started, Paused or Stopped.
- Started Workflows will allow Contacts to enter them and continue their journey through the various Actions.
- Paused Workflows will pause all Contacts within the workflow, not allowing them to move on until the Workflow is restarted. It will also allow Contacts to enter but will queue everyone at the start action until the workflow is restarted.
- Stopped Workflows will pause all Contacts within them and simply drop any new Contacts arriving at the Start Action.
WARNING: If pausing a Workflow containing contacts for any period of time you should be aware that the message or data may very well be out of date when you come to restart the Workflow. You should always be sure that you are not restarting a workflow which will be sending out of date content to your customer base.
Before a Workflow can be started it must be free from errors. Errors can be anything from a missing or incorrect from address, to unconnected Actions in the Workflow.
If your Workflow contains any errors then they will show as a red counter at the top of the page and the Start button will be disabled.
To rectify the errors, click the counter and select one of the errors to be taken to the right area to fix it.
Once all errors have been cleared the counter will show zero in green and the Start button will become available.